Font Size

Who We Are

The Hockey Development Centre for Ontario (HDCO) was established in 1984 to respond to the safety, education and development needs of amateur hockey in Ontario. Formerly known as Hockey Ontario, the HDCO has membership from all Amateur Hockey Bodies within the Province of Ontario, including:

  • Alliance Hockey (AH)
  • Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL)
  • Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA)
  • Ontario Hockey Association (OHA)
  • Ontaio Hockey Federation (OHF) HC Branch
  • Ontario Hockey League (OHL)
  • Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA)
  • Hockey Eastern Ontario (HEO) HC Branch
  • Hockey Eastern Ontario Minor (HEOM)
  • Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO) HC Branch

These organizations are the governing bodies of amateur hockey in their jurisdictional area, setting playing rules, regulations and policies for competition within their specific area. Each HDCO member organization has their own Board of Directors and office staff to carry out the duties of running hockey programs within their respective area. These organizations represent an estimated 15,000 teams and 400,000 hockey players in the Province.

In addition, the HDCO has granted partner status to certain organizations that are committed to the betterment and enjoyment of amateur hockey in Ontario. At the present time the Hockey Hall of Fame and the Ontario Sledge Hockey Association are a partner of the HDCO.