Font Size


The Ontario Under -17 Program of Excellence is rich in history and has developed a number of players and team personnel who have gone onto successful professional careers. Numerous current and former NHLers have played for Team Ontario, including recent alumni Matt Duchene, Ryan O'Reilly, Taylor Hall, Steve Stamkos, Syler Seguin, Jeff Skinner and Devante Smith-Pelly.   Alumni Joe Thornton, Jason Spezza, Rick Nash and Eric Staal.  Former players include Eric Lindros, Owen Nolan, Mike Peca, Chris Pronger and Ed Jovanovski.  Former coaches and administrators for Team Ontario include Marc Crawford and Sam McMaster. 

In 2014 Hockey Canada undertook a restructuring of the provincial Under 17 Program of Excellence and as result there was a transition to the OHL Under-16 Gold Cup from the Under-17 Regional and Provincial Camps previously hosted by the HDCO member associations.  To help identify players for the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, Hockey Canada hosts a national under-17 camp in July for 100 players.  

Team Ontario has captured 12 Gold medals at both the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and Canada Winter Games events.

2015CWGU16Prince George, British ColumbiaGold
2014WHCCape Breton, Nova Scotia5th
2013WHCVictoriaville, Que6th
2012WHCWindsor, OntarioBronze
2011WHCWinnipeg, ManitobaGold
2011CWGU16Halifax, Nova Scotia4th
2010WHCTimmins, OntarioSilver
2009WHCPort Alberni, British ColumbiaGold
2008WHCLondon, OntarioGold
2007CWGWhitehorse, YukonGold
2006WHCRegina, Saskatchewan5th
2005WHCLethbridge, Alberta4th
2004WHCSt. John’s, NewfoundlandGold
2003CWGBathurst/Campbellton, New BrunswickBronze
2002WHCSelkirk/Stonewall, ManitobaBronze
2001WHCNew Glasgow, Nova ScotiaBronze
2000WHCTimmins, OntarioSilver
1999CWGCorner Brook, Newfoundland4th
1998WHCKitchener, OntarioGold
1997WHCRed Deer, AlbertaGold
1996WHCMoncton, New BrunswickGold
1995CWGGrand Prairie, Alberta4th
1994WHCAmos, Quebec4th
1993WHCKirkland Lake, OntarioGold
1992WHCSudbury, OntarioGold
1991CWGCharlottetown, PEIGold